top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHailey Watts

Virtual learning + My favorite studying tips

Hey guys! Hope all is well. Today I thought I would talk about virtual learning

(because it is officially FDOC :) ) and how I plan to keep my sanity during such an isolating time. Although I am currently living on campus my classes are still all online and I thought it would be nice to share some of the things I will be doing to have a successful semester.


Tip 1) Avoiding the dorm room

This tip is super important because spending too much time doing classwork in your dorm room can leave you feeling very secluded from the other students on campus. I plan to spend lots of time studying at the library and in our schools solarium (which is where I'm writing currently). Through this you can even set yourself up for the opportunity to meet new people and make friends (which can be hard without in person classes). Even if you are doing school at home going outside to study and sit at a picnic table to do your work could be a great way to get fresh air and keep yourself energized.


Tip 2) Be hard on yourself

Without the stress of a professor constantly calling on you or encouraging you to participate you can begin to cut yourself too much slack and fall behind. It is important to be your own critic and push yourself to work harder. This could mean taking the extra steps such as digging in deeper to your assignments, doing extra tutoring (even if it's on zoom) or even just trying to plan more. Expanding your knowledge outside of the classroom could also impact your grades for the better. One thing I recommend is having a book you are reading just for enjoyment.


Tip 3) Follow a schedule

Without the set schedule of walking from class to class you can begin to lose track of time and find yourself procrastinating on work (especially if it is asynchronous classes!) It is important to develop consistency and use your dang planner. Try to plan ahead as much as possible and save dates you already know of from your syllabus in a place where you can remember them. For me I find it easy to keep track of when my zoom classes are and when assignments are due by using google calendar to track my zoom calls and a physical planner to write down assignments.


Tip 4) Check your email daily

I used to not follow this tip at all but with online classes it is important to not only check your teacher's websites daily, but to check your emails as well. Lots of the assignment changes and additional information you used to hear in person will now be communicated through email and it is important to not miss any of this. I normally just set a daily reminder on my phone that helps me to remember to check my emails every morning before I get up.


Tip 5) Try creating a socially distant study group (or zoom study group)

If you know of people taking similar or the same classes as you a great opportunity to get the peer aspect of a classroom would be a study group. This could be in person (outside or inside if you are comfortable with masks!) or over zoom if you aren't given that option. Studying together can give you the opportunity to better learn topics you don't understand if others can explain them. Having a peer perspective can not only help you to grow academically, but socially as well.


Tip 6) Take care of yourself :)

Being socially isolated can definitely affect your mental health. If you need extra time on an assignment or need extra help reach out to your professor. Most understand the circumstances right now and would be more than happy to give you an extension or give you extra tutoring. Make sure to take time for yourself and not overwhelm yourself with too much work because of course, your happiness should be a priority. Even with a busy schedule you should have time to get outside, eat well, and participate in hobbies you enjoy.


46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page